The Photography of Mike O'Neill ABIPP

Taking it to the streets

I’ve recently begun dabbling in Street Photography, my recent trip to Italy started me off with visits to Pisa and Genoa. I also found myself a stones throw from Camden Town in London so I had to go and see what the fuss was about. I wasn’t disappointed, Camden Town is a ‘Target Rich’ environment. Prior to this shoot I wasn’t really feeling ‘Street Photography’ and my images wore more of an Urban Landscape feel.

Camden changed this, with so much going on, so many quirky characters about, I felt I was able to become part of the scene and become unwatched in my image taking.

HQ ARRC begins training exercise in Italy

I looked for the image within a scene – it’s a shop, but what is happening outside. Who is about to walk past that will/may add to my image. Is there something in the surroundings that have meaning such as an advertising board that I can use?

Images taken around Camden Town - Mike O'Neill ABIPP

Images taken around Camden Town – Mike O’Neill ABIPP

I felt there were a lot of options available and I felt my creativity and ability to get myself into the right place to get the shot.

I was shooting with my Nikon D800 with an attached Nikon 24-70mm 2.8 lens. I really like the D800 as I feel the images have a lot of instant punch even on the view screen.

In the end I was happy with my hour spent shooting, have a look at some more examples below.

Regards,
Mike

Images taken around Camden Town - Mike O'Neill ABIPP

Images taken around Camden Town – Mike O’Neill ABIPP

Images taken around Camden Town - Mike O'Neill ABIPP

Images taken around Camden Town – Mike O’Neill ABIPP

Images taken around Camden Town - Mike O'Neill ABIPP

Images taken around Camden Town – Mike O’Neill ABIPP

HQ ARRC begins training exercise in Italy

HQ ARRC begins training exercise in Italy

Images taken around Camden Town - Mike O'Neill ABIPP

Images taken around Camden Town – Mike O’Neill ABIPP

Images taken around Camden Town - Mike O'Neill ABIPP

Images taken around Camden Town – Mike O’Neill ABIPP

Images taken around Camden Town - Mike O'Neill ABIPP

Images taken around Camden Town – Mike O’Neill ABIPP

Images taken around Camden Town - Mike O'Neill ABIPP

Images taken around Camden Town – Mike O’Neill ABIPP

3 responses

  1. Anna

    Really loved these pictures taken in Camden, fantastic images

    July 3, 2014 at 7:54 pm

Leave a Reply

