The Photography of Mike O'Neill ABIPP

CHALLENGE MODE: SHOOT A CASTLE IN ONE HOUR

The challenge was to photograph a Castle, or Gentleman’s Folly, and to show the castle in its best light in just one hour.“Could it be done?”  I asked myself when I arrived and saw the size of the place.   I didnt know at the time but I was certainly going to try.

I got the gear out of the car and got stuck straight in, it was hard work.  I haven’t touched any interior photography in quite a while but I do like to keep my hand in.  Looking back I got too bogged down to start with trying to match the flash lighting with the outside ambience coming through the windows so I spent much of the time doing the ground floor realising I only had just short of twenty minutes to complete the upstairs and bedrooms.  I had to work quickly!

Once done I finished by photographing the outside and gardens.  It was tight, but I just about managed it.

Overall I was pleased with the results!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

