The Photography of Mike O'Neill ABIPP

A New Horizon

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I have been employed in my new job since November 1st and it has been a whirlwind so far.  Becoming the Brigade Photographer for 4 Mechanized Brigade has also meant that I have become the only Army or MoD photographer in the North!  So I am covering a patch that includes Yorkshire, the North East and North West.

So far it has been very busy, compared to my last job, I find myself driving to many different towns providing photographs to military stories.  The main thing is, I love it, as busy as it is.  The jobs have been diverse, from Boxing to Royal Visits and have been, in the main, rewarding.

One job had me on the road for 26 hours searching for Deerstalking Nepalese Ghurkhas in the Highlands of Scotland, during severe weather warnings.  When I found where they were they had already began their journey home.  However, the journey was not in vain as I saw a part of the world I may not have seen and had an adventure whilst I was at it.

I find that this job carries a price though; I work late, travelling all over the Yorkshire and the North East so far completing the jobs.  This has impacted on my home life significantly and I find myself missing my family.  That said, if it wasn’t me if would be have to be someone else.  It’s just my turn.

I plan now to update this blog at least once a month to show off the variety of work an Army Photographer is involved in and to outline how I went about each task and dealt with problems, if any, that occurred.

As always, stay tuned.

Mike

One response

  1. What an awesome opportunity! Great images.

    February 4, 2012 at 10:37 pm

Leave a Reply

